REGIONAL OFFICE OF EDUCATION



Grundy * Kendall Counties

PAUL R. NORDSTROM Superintendent

Minutes for Grundy/Kendall Regional Board of School Trustees Meeting Monday, July 18, 2011 Grundy County Administration Center 1320 Union St., Morris, IL

In attendance: Lou Naretto, Trustee Robert Nordengren, Trustee Arden Wills, Trustee Mary Lou Salato, Trustee Jim Siedentop, Trustee Wayne Nemetz, Trustee Greg Dobbins, Trustee Chris Mehochko, Assistant Superintendent Paul Nordstrom, Regional Superintendent Susan Bates, Asst. State's Attorney, Grundy County Michael Mattingly, Attorney

Introductions were done by Supt. Nordstrom

- 1. Chairman Nordengren called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Roll call showed that a quorum was present.
- Mr. Nordengren pointed out that the transcript for the Brady petition had errors on pages 68,92,166,168, and 192 where the school district names were switched. The changes were noted.
- 3. During time for public comment, Mr. Mattingly introduced himself.
- A motion was made by Mr. Naretto and seconded by Mr. Dobbins to go into Closed Session for the purpose of discussing litigation at 7:04 p.m. The motion passed unanimously on a roll call vote.
- A motion was made by Ms. Salato and seconded by Mr. Naretto to return to Open Session at 7:54 p.m. The motion passed by a 6-0 vote with Mr. Dobbins abstaining.
- 6. A motion was made by Mr. Naretto and seconded by Mr. Nemetz to grant the detachment petition of Mr. Thomas J. Brady and Jennifer A. Brady for

detachment of territory from Newark Community High School District #18 to Morris Community High School District #101.

The following vote was taken:

Mr. Naretto – No	Ms. Salato- No
Mr. Wills- No	Mr. Dobbins- Abstain
Mr. Nemetz- No	Mr. Siedentop- No
Mr. Nordengren- No	

The motion for detachment was defeated by a 6-0 vote with one abstention.

- 7. Mr. Nordengren thanked the trustees for their diligence and professionalism in dealing with the hearing.
- 8. A motion was made by Mr. Siedentop and seconded by Mr. Dobbins to adjourn at 8:00 p.m. The motion passed unanimously on a voice vote.

Paul R. Nordstrom, Secretary

Robert Nordengren, President